City Hall


Public Safety


Culture & Recreation


Public Works


Economic Development


Facts & Figures







City Hall: 411 Lombard St. 563-452-3625

City Hall


The City of Clarence, Iowa operates under a mayor/council form of government. The Mayor is the head of city government and presides at all council minutes.  The mayor is elected to a four year term and the position is part-time. The City Council is the legislative body of the City government and determines all matters of City policy.  The Council is composed of five members, elected at-large, for terms of four-years, which are staggered. The City Council meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in council chambers. The public is welcome to attend each meeting of the Clarence City Council.

MAYOR, Jeric Armstrong, term expires 12/31/2021

CITY COUNCIL; Mayor Pro-tem, Bart Miller, term expires 12/31/2021

Rod Dennis, term expires 12/31/2019

Ronald Robinson, term expires 12/31/2021

Jim Barber, term expires 12/31/2021

Levi VanOort, term expires 12/31/2021

You can reach all of the city council members by email at

CITY ATTORNEY, Kyle Maurer 562-452-3713

The Clarence Municipal Building, at 411 Lombard Street, is home to Council Chambers, City Clerk's Office, Police Department and Fire Department. It is also the Polling place for Dayton Township. Resident Kris Plueger, with the help of other community, volunteers plants and tends the beautiful flower beds at City Hall, Downtown Memorial Park and at the City Park entrance and around the walking trail at the park.
City of Clarence
411 Lombard St.
PO Box 418
Clarence, Iowa 52216

563-452-3625 phone 563-452-4128 fax

CITY CLERK , Deb. Minar

The City Clerk is responsible for utility billing, accounts payable and receivable, processing payroll, providing reconciliation of budgets, processing alcohol and cigarette permits, city website design & updating, directing phone calls to various departments, and answering many different general questions about the city. The city clerk is also the custodian of city records and takes minutes at council meetings. Phone 563-452-3625, Fax 563-452-4128, Email

Office Hours: Mon., Tues., Thurs., Fri 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. & 1:00 -5:00 p.m., Wed. 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

February 2011 Snow storm